Brother Can You Spare A Dime

Publié le par christina

Paroles et Musique : Jay Gorney/E.Y Harburg

 


They used to tell me I was building a dream,
And so I followed the mob
Where there was earth to plow or guns to bare
I was always on the job.
They used to tell me I was building a dream,
With peace and glory ahead
Why should I be standing in line
Just waiting for bread

Once I built a railroad, made it run
Made it race against time
Once I built a railroad, now it's done
Brother can you spare a dime?
Once I built a tower to the sun
Brick and rivet and lime
Once I built a tower, now it's done
Brother can you spare a dime?

Once in khaki suits, gee, we looked swell
Full of that yankee Doodle De Dum.
Half a million boots went slogging through hell,
And I was the kid with the drum
Say, don't you remember they called me Al,
It was Al all the time.
Say, don't you remember, I'm your pal
Buddy, can you spare a dime?

Once I built a railroad, made it run
Made it race against time
Once I built a railroad, now it's done
Brother can you spare a dime?
Once I built a tower to the sun
Brick and rivet and lime
Once I built a tower, now it's done
Brother can you spare a dime?

Once in khaki suits, gee, we looked swell
Full of that yankee Doodle De Dum.
Half a million boots went slogging through hell,
And I was the kid with the drum
Say, don't you remember they called me Al,
It was Al all the time.
Say, don't you remember, I'm your pal
Buddy, can you spare a dime?

 

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article